Some people believe that robots will play an important role in future societies, while others argue that robots might have negative effects on society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that robots would become a pivotal part in humans’ lives while many claim that they might have detrimental consequences on human beings. This essay discusses both sides of this argument and later explains the rationale for my support of the former.

On the one hand, it is true that robots would be greatly significant in the development of our civilization. In the clinical settings, since medical robotic machines offer advantages including high precision, lower risk of infection, their compact sizes and more, they are used to assist in surgeries for complicated diseases, which increases patients’ survival rates. In manufacturing, the automation of production lines has eliminated dangerous and high-risk jobs for humans to undertake as machines can work in hazardous and toxic environments, thereby reducing work accidents and the associated health risks in the long term. In agriculture, the application of advanced robotic technologies in irrigation, monitoring crops growth, weather prediction, and pest control has allowed farmers especially those in developing nations to signficantly increase crop yields, which eventually would help alleviate food insecurity issues in those nations.

On the other hand, some are convinced that the use of the robotics technology might have undesirable impacts on humanity. The first one is the massive layoffs of employees, causing mass employment. This is because their jobs would be replaced by robots, which could not only outperform them with better precision and at faster speed but also are more cost-effective. An additional shortcoming is that robots can be tempting targets for cyber criminals. More precisely, they can hack into the robot’s control softwares remotely and turn it into a dangerous weapon for their malicious purposes. To illustrate, there are instances where terrorists infiltrated into a robot-automated vehicle’s computer to direct it to crash into a building, which killed a number of innocent people.

In my conclusion, I believe that both sides have their own merits. However, in my opinion, the case for robots becoming indispensible in societies is stronger since the mentioned disadvantages could easily be minimized by better employment policies and improved cyber security. Therefore, I suggest that governments should encourage the research and development of robotic advancements to further benefit human beings.