Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

That the punishments should be imposed on criminals equally has controversial. Several people argue that it is eligible to serve the same penalty on every kind of crime while other presume that court should take into consideration different punishments relying on the level and reasons of committing a crime. This essay will discuss both opinions.

To begin with, there are some advantages to enact fixed punishments for each type of crime. First and foremost, this rule will act as a deterrent and will be useful measure to tackle rising crime. Due to the fact that people will be afraid of being sentenced to jail even though they commit a soft crime, the rate of crime well decline significantly. Secondly, it is fair for all offenders to apply the similar punishments. For example, wrongdoers can not use money to decrease the level of punishment. In addition, it can save money for country which imposes fixed punishments. In detailed, governments do not need to spend a huge budge establishing court to commit a crime because penalties are similar in any cases.

On the other hand, there are some reasons to impose flexible punishments on separate crimes. Firstly, it is essential to understand the causes why people have committed criminalities. For example, people who break the law because of starvation should be punished by non-custodial sentence while serious crimes such as murder or assassinator should be served a long prison sentence or capital punishment.

In conclusion, although there are some positive influences which fixed punishments bring to human, I strongly believe that authorities should enact different punishments depending on situations and reasons which result in committing a crime.