Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that there should be a certainty of punishment for the people who committed to a notorious crime. In my view, the degree of punishment should be considered by the reason and motivation for committing it and also the personal background of the offender.

On the one hand, people believe that the severity and certainty of punishment could be give a deterrence effect for both the offender and the common people. It could help to avoid the offender turning to be a recidivist and also to prevent the people to commit a kind of crime. For example, people believe that the capital punishment for the drug dealer is suitable to the crime he/she had been done. It could be beneficial to the government and the community to gain a positive impact, such as, the drug market that has been eliminated after they executed the dealer.

On the other hand, I believe that there are many reason that could be identified as a consideration before deciding the punishment. Firstly, the prosecutor should be verifying the personalities of the offender. There are several offender that have a mental disorder issues, for example is schizophrenia. They could done a homicide under the influence of their mental problem. Secondly, we must respected the rights to live for every people. This includes for the people who committed crime. Instead deciding a capital punishment, the maximum penalties for the criminal is life imprisonment. Finally, the reason and motivation are the important part for the consideration before deciding the sentences. People could be conducted a crime because they are poor, so they forced themselves to become, for example, a robber or drug dealer just to get enough money to live.

In conclusion, people need a certainty of law to prevent a bad crime to be happened. Yet, the punishment should be fair and equitable for the people who committed crime.