Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The flexibility of enforcing laws has fallen into argumentative topics of discussion. Some people suppose that it depends on the situation to consider on the punishment, especially when criminals are to do evils for some good motivations. However, other's views different from that the circumstance under which people have wrong actions should be taken into account so that fixed laws see no tolerance for any kind of crimes.

It is a bit understandable that the preference of the judges is supposed to make room for the circumstance of a crime and its intentions prior to making the decision. For example, a certain number of people due to the fact people in some extreme cases such as drought, flooding or even self-defence commit crimes just to survive. Nevertheless, human actions and emotions are very natural and it is difficult to predict what they are thinking. That makes it challenging for the judges to determine their punishment. As a result, it is hard to establish for justice and equity.

To be exact, I think that is the arbitrary law system, the fixed punishments that do work in many aspects. For one thing, it can strengthen the jurisdiction of law and especially fills an indispensable role in avoiding the resistance or even riots in public. To a large extent, it can make criminals feel scared and ensure a safe living environment for law-abiding citizens. In another hand, this practice is surely a great consolation to the victims, for quite a few of them firmly hold that their loss of property or beloved must be compensated by merciless punishments based on fixed laws.

In conclusion, to ensure that society can run smoothly before the relatively perfect establishment of equity and justice, the majority of cases have to decide by settled laws