Some people believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn, and should not have to pay tax to the state.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Some people are of a view that tax should not be paid to the state instead people should keep all the money they earn. However, others oppose such view.

Those who believe tax should not be paid points out that paying tax encourages criminal acts. Some people device methods and actions to avoid paying tax. The famous soccer star Lionel Messi exemplifies this precisely. He was charged with fraud after he came up with actions to dodge paying tax. This clarifies that tax promotes fraudulent actions.

Furthermore, it promotes unfairness to the tax payer. Their hard earned income is shared with state. This is evident in majority of countries as they have a standard percentage of taxing workers. This is exploiting to workers as they would not enjoy all the rewards of their hard work.

On the other hand, tax should be paid as the state uses such income for public services. South Africa in particular uses tax money to pay older citizens over 60 years of age. It is so because these individuals are disadvantaged by age and physical fitness to work. Thus this reduces dependency.

Moreover, paying tax reduces the gap between the poor and the rich. The more one earns, the higher the amount of tax, and the lesser income one earns the lesser tax charged. This reduces the rich from being richer and the poorer being poorer.

In conclusion, it is worth noting that paying tax may encourage crime and may seem exploiting to workers. However, I believe the benefits of tax money are far more rewarding to the state and citizens.