Some people believe that universities should only accept students with high marks. Others think that students of all ages and ability levels should be able to attend universities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often thought that Universities ought to enroll students with excellent grades, whereas others believe students with diverse age groups and abilities should have the opportunity to be accepted by higher education institutions. In my opinion, I consider students should be judged not only by their grades but also by the limitations and constraints they face.

On the one hand, some people think that universities should accept students based on their merits. The reason for this is to ensure the transparency and fairness of the selection process in universities. For example, all higher education institutions in Uzbekistan accept students almost solely based on their performance in the university entrance exams. Besides, this method of selection serves as a motivational tool for children to excel in their academic performance in order to be able to enter higher educational establishments in the future.

On the other hand, it is often believed that universities should select students based on equity and I agree. In other words, the selection committee should offer differentiated opportunities to accommodate diverse students. For example, people who have learning or physical disabilities should also have a chance to get a higher education. Furthermore, applicants from rural areas should be given some privilege to be accepted by a university. This is because, usually, students living in villages have fewer facilities and opportunities for excelling. In the long run, if these students are given the chance to get quality education, upon completion of their studies, they will return to their villages and contribute to the development of those underrated areas.

In conclusion, while people vary in opinions, I think that universities should consider candidates’ abilities and backgrounds to ensure equity in society.