Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that the function is the most important factor to take into consideration in architecture’s design, rather than appearance. I disagree with this statement.

It is undeniable that equipping a building with facilities such as air conditioner and lifts to make it convenient and cozy would benefits people who use the building. For example, employees who work in a building without any air conditioner installed would be bothered by extreme hot weather in summer, and their working efficiency, therefore, would considerably dropped. In this regard, installing basic facilities such as air conditioner in workplace is of great importance. Similarly, disabled friendly facilities in public area such as a community library can provide convenience to people with disabilities, making them feel accepted, included and cared. This will contributes to a harmonious relationship among people in this community.

The significance of appearance of the architecture, however, should not be ignored. Adding aesthetic design to the architecture could generate economic benefits if the main function of building were not for residence or work only. For instance, nowadays, high-rise buildings in CBD tend to be the landscape of a city, and making those building attractive, therefore, could lure visitors from other places, promoting the development of local tourism. Also, compared to an average shopping center, the eye-catching one decorated with glossy lights can provide consumers better shopping experience and leave consumers an unforgettable impression, thereby retaining regular consumers more easily.

The above analysis suggests that the relative importance of function and appearance of a building depends on the main purpose of the building, and these two sides are not incompatible. We should combine these two in order to design a building in order to provide users better experience.