Some people believe that women should play equal roles as men in the country’s police force or military force, while others think that women are not suitable for this kind of job.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

An increasing number of women opted to choose a career in police force. Whereas some people think that women are not qualified to do the job, I believe that they have equal duties as men in this kind of field. Both these viewpoints will be analyzed before a reasoned conclusion will be drawn.

On the one hand, many people argue that women are less capable in doing police officer job because of the limitation in the physical strength. As this job requires muscle and strength such as chasing a criminal or arresting drug addicts, physical attributes are extremely important. For example, in a recent study at the University of Queensland, the majority of candidates in the police academy that passed the rigorous training are males from different regions. This is clearly evident that men satisfactory meet all the requirements needed in police force.

On the other hand, I believe that other attributes such as leadership and communication are the most important factor to consider in any types of profession. These characteristics which are inherent in women, make them equally qualified as men in the law enforcement profession. For instance, policewomen can control a worse situation of a hostage drama by employing an efficient communication and strategy because they can show more empathy in their words. In contrast, men are more judgmental in their actions which can lead to more serious injury or harm to others during the encounter.

In conclusion, although physical strength is an important factor in the police force, I strongly believe that other qualities such as leadership and communication are also the key to the successful career in this profession. It is recommended that the qualification for this job should not be solely based on gender but also in the qualification of the person.