Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Such is our dependence on unusable materials that the public comes to terms with recycling. Yet, many-voiced skepticism about public awareness and willingness for recycling. Hence, a proposal for constitution changes has been raised as they question the role of the government on this matter. I personally side with this statement and I firmly believe that the authority should make more efforts in influencing the public action.

First of all, recycling should have been made a mandatory requirement for all corporates and business organizations. The major problem lay in the fact that 90% of waste materials and carbon dioxide come from giant corporations. For decades, companies have only prioritized maximizing profits without giving the slightest concern for their impact on the environment. This is, however, a very shortsighted view. Economic growth should be compatible with environmental sustainability – this is the philosophy, which they fail to understand. A further example of this ideology is when consumers are shifting away from plastic polluting companies, such as the profit of Mac Cosmetics has been hitting a plummet since their policy on producing microplastic doesn’t resonate with their customers.

In this light, the State authority should amend the law to call for the social responsibility of corporations. Sanctions should be given for any organization devoid of their environmental responsibility. A fine should also be charged accordingly to the damage that they cause to the environment.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that protecting the Earth is a shared obligation and the government must work to assure that no one is neglecting their duties, as everyone has a part to play.