Some people claim that there are more disadvantages of the car than its advantages. Do you agree or disagree? Discuss advantages and disadvantages of having a car.

Cars – one of the most essential inventions in human history. These machines have accelerated the process of human civilization evolution as well as the invention has brought a plenty of drawbacks, particularly in the form of ecological issues. Nevertheless, I believe advantages of owning a car overwhelms its disadvantages.

Having a car has resulted in increased level of air pollution around the world. World’s biggest metropolises such as New York, Beijing, Tokyo, etc. are choking with the fumes emitted from cars, according to WHO (World Health Organization). Also, cars are responsible for relatively high temperature in large cities, where the density of cars is the highest. A small crossover, for instance, can heat up the air around itself to 50 Celsius degree within an hour in a traffic jam. Therefore, it can appear that having a car contributes in contaminating the environment; however, some solutions are being undertaken to resolve the issue.

Companies such as Tesla and Toyota are focusing on electric car production, which is significantly environmental friendly than conventional cars. Cars have made travelling more enjoyable and cost-effective; it is also predicted that electric cars will be more cost-effective since it is cheaper to produce electricity than extracting oil. Moreover cars reduced time spent on commuting until they have become affordable for most individuals resulting in intense traffic jams; nonetheless, most city authorities construct highways to increase traffic capacity.

Cars have alleviated burden of travelling making our journeys safer, faster and more enjoyable. Nevertheless, the machines have already made significant harm to the environment, so it is crucial to upgrade cars by adjusting them more environmental friendly.