Some people feel that entertainers such as film stars, pop musicians or sports stars are paid too much money.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which other types of job should be highly paid?

It is argued that people who work in the entertainment industry are being overpaid. The essay discusses the reason why I agree that entertainers are paid too much and then I will describe other professions that I believe should receive higher saleries.

The main reason I believe saleries paid to artists are too high is that their relative contributions to society do not match their income. To be specific, I subcribe to the belief that deciding how much to pay people is contingent upon the values and meaningful contributions that their roles generate to other people. With that logic, it is considered paradoxical if high-profile figures such as singers or footballers who only entertain viewers on mainstream media, while did little to solve ongoing social issues, are ridiculously highly paid ; in contrast to other jobs in other fields such as science or education that remarkably contribute to the public good, but suffered serious pay gap.

There are other occupations that deserve higher pay cheques. The first one is scientists since those people offer solutions to pressing social concerns such as climate change, global pandemic or food security. For that reason, they should get paid in accordance with their immeasurable values to protecting human beings. Another type of occupation that should be more financially rewarded is teachers, who educate future generations with necessary knowledge to join the nation’s workforce. Surely, people who are assigned to such an intellectually demanding and arduous job should be paid accordingly.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that entertainers are being overpaid as they can not create impactful values to the society as much as other people who work in other industries. Besides, I argue that some jobs including scientists or teachers who meaningfully contribute to humankind should be highly paid. Therefore, I recommend that more measures be taken to bridge such pay disparity.