Some people get into debt buying things they do not need and cannot afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

It is widely known that nowadays many people tend to be more consumptive in purchasing things they do not use and cannot settle, even worse end up with loans. This worldwide phenomenon has been occurred due to several major factors and I would propose some notions that can be considered to prevent it.

Today, modern technology leads some people to be more creative and subtle. In terms of marketing goods, those skills are possible to trigger people in producing fantastic advertisements which could create consumer’s new desires and needs. Following this, attractive ads in social media can also easily persuade people to buy the latest style, especially for people who always follow the trend, causing them to easily spend their money in something that actually unnecessary. Moreover, elite brands are status symbols for some people, they connect wealth and material possession with happiness and success. This extremely enriches the habit of consumptive society in taking loans to make temporary pleasure to themselves.

Following those reasons, there are several options that can be taken by them who have the willingness to prevent this massive global case. First, people should have a clear regulation on their debit cards. This should be supported by their banks and financial institutions which should set a credit limit to their customers, aligned with each individual income. In addition to this, instead of opening malls in the city, it is better for the government to focus on providing more public parks and playgrounds. Thus, widening entertainment options for people besides going to the shopping center.

To conclude, it is true that the debt problem is now common in our society. Some of the reasons that caused this problem are the product advertisements in social media and social prestige dogma of happy and successful people. Those further can be avoid by the clear regulation of debit card and addition of public entertainment facilities by the government.