Some people prefer to have temporary jobs, which means they only work a few months in a year and use the rest of the time to do what they want. What is your opinion?

It is noticeable that some people nowadays choose to work for a short time of a year rather than on a regular basis. While I agree temporary jobs may work for those who have a clear dream to pursue, for most people, full-time jobs are likely to be wiser choices.

It is true that working temporarily and pursuing dreams for the rest of time help to reach a balance between financial demands and emotional needs. One the one hand, people earn salaries from contract jobs, thus laying a financial foundation for their life later-on, without worrying about not being able to support themselves. On the other hand, working temporarily allows people to pursue their dreams and devote time for things they truly wanted, therefore feeling satisfied and content. When people are able to work for their passion without financial burdens, there are higher chances that they would be more concentrated, thus achieving greater success in their dream fields. It is not rare to find example in celebrities telling stories of them spending months washing dishes in restaurants or selling cosmetics in shopping malls to accumulate fund for their albums.

However, for the majority of people, working part-time would simply be a waste of time and money. Firstly, for some people, they don’t have a clear career path, doing what they want mostly means getting involved in leisure activities, so they might end up spending this precious time and money on games or drinks. Secondly, it is hard to build a career based on temporary jobs. For people doing temporary jobs, they are more likely to be employed by various elementary-level jobs, since there are no stable demands for contracts in one specific field. However, changing from one basic job to another would not add valuable experience and skills. Frequently being in and out of work also causes employers’ doubt towards the job seeker, therefore making the job hunting process more and more difficult in the long run.

To conclude, for people who have a strong motivation and cleared path for their dreams, they can use temporary jobs to accumulate money. But for most people who gain satisfaction from their career, it is better to be permanently employed.