Some people say that the government should invest in trains and the subway system to prevent traffic congestion in large cities. Others, however, think it should build wider roads. Discuss both views and give your own opinion and examples.

It is important to consider how the governments should spend its money in related to transport development. In most of the developed countries, unless they live in remote areas, public transport is the main method for people to avoid congestion and traffic jam. Due to this reason, I believe to the notion that governments should focus more on improving and developing railways rather than roads.

First of all, to expand the existing or open a new road, it requires more lands which will destroy the nature and the ecosystem of the world. Expanding road means to encourage people to travel by their own cars which will produce more emissions, which will ruin the environment. Although pollution is also caused when we are expanding or operating new railways, but it brings less damage to the environment as trains produce fewer emissions than cars and is seen as an environmentally friendly way to travel. Furthermore, most traffic jams occur during the peak hours, thus people prefer train during these hours so that they will not be late for schools and works. With the increase in demand for trains, governments are expected to pay more attention to improving these.

On the other hand, it can be argued that many people prefer to travel by their car as they feel uncomfortable in the crowded trains during peak hours or they do not want to carry their stuff when traveling. Those people should be educated by the government how the diminution of traveling by cars can improve our environment.

All things considered, governments should encourage people to travel by train to protect our environment; and thus, they should spend more money on the improvement and development of railways rather than roads.