Some people say that it is possible for a county to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. Others disagree. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

The global economy is growing at a startling pace. However, this prosperity comes at the cost of environmental degradation on an unprecedented scale. Some people assume that this is inevitable while environmental advocates find the coexistence of blooming economy and clean habitats practicable. From my perspective, both sides have their own merits.

It is arguable that the economic prosperity is deeply rooted in the advancement of technology which, in order to reach this cutting-edge level, has disposed an immeasurable amount of industrial waste. For instance, the release of CFC, a chemical that is held responsible for the ozone holes, is a direct consequence from the development of industrial refrigeration and cooling systems. Hardly can any measures safeguard the environment from such destruction. A salient example of this is China. Owing to such alarming pollution level, the affluent dwelling in capital city have imported Canadian fresh air compressed in iron bottles at an exorbitant price for breathing purpose only. Furthermore, in business practice, profits are usually prioritized. Manufacturers have to make sure that their actual revenues reach the calculation before fulfilling their duties to the environment.

However, an unspoiled/intact environment can still be found in highly developed nations such as Singapore and New Zealand, serving as counter examples to the tradeoff theory between economic well-being and environmental contamination. It is noteworthy that these nations have boasted leading economies as well as high intellectual levels for decades, and thus can fully grasp the paramount importance of a multifaceted development, which gives equal weight to both financial growth and ecological balance. Specifically, these nations, among others, are the early birds/the pioneers to join the Paris Accord on environmental protection, which guides and encourages member countries to place a quota on their greenhouse gas emissions. Voluntary as they may be, these courses of actions act to raise the awareness of global citizens on environmental issues, shedding light on the fact that if we maintain our current pace of exploiting our mother nature, it is only a matter of time until the Earth exhausted of all the resources that can sustain life.

In conclusion, many rising stars in the global economy enjoy impressive growth rates, but at the expense of taking a toll on the environment, and in turns, their citizens. Economic superpowers, in contrast, have proven that a simultaneous development, balancing the ecological needs with financial demands, is attainable.