Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

It is important to consider whether people need to study a foreign language. While some people believe that studying a different language is only for the purpose of working or travelling aboard, I would argue that learning a foreign language is also needed for other purposes.

To begin with, it is often said that foreign language is only important when people need to go overseas. In other words, learning a foreign language only when the person is planning to visit a foreign country or considering taking a job aboard, otherwise studying a new language is unnecessary. Due to the fact that the daily communication within a country is often its native language, a foreign language could be considered as worthless. For this reason, many people just have knowledge of their mother language.

However, as the world has become globalised, international businesses and migrant workers have arrived in most countries, foreign language knowledge has become valuable. Especially, as there is often an overwhelming number of applications for a position, therefore, having a knowledge of another language can put people one step ahead of others who do not and this also can become an advantage in getting a better job. Also, I strongly believe that learning a foreign language would bring numerous of benefits to people including knowledge development, the ability to communicate with foreign people or friends, or an advantage when applying for a position.

The notion that foreign language is purely for the purpose of working or traveling aboard could have been true a few decades ago when globalisation was still less common; however, this idea is now outdated. People should learn a foreign language in any circumstances as it is one of the keys to putting one ahead of the game.