Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

As society develops and becomes globalised, learning a foreign language becomes necessity. While obtain the ability of speak of other language can be useful for the employment and the entertainment reasons, it cannot deny that there are other reasons to learn a foreign language. In my view, even though there are various reasons to learn other languages such as social contact and partners, the primary reason is the employment and the entertainment.

In this modern era, the world has becoming globalised. Due to this globalisation, people can travel and communicate with foreigners easily and convenient. As a result of this, learning a new language becomes important in order to communicate effectively with foreigners.

There are various reasons for learning a new language. Due to globalisation, people can easily have a foreign partner or make an international social group and which all are required to learn other languages in order to communicate. For example, there are a high proportion of international marriages in Australia and those non-Australian partners required to speak English in order to communicate with their partners. This can be the same for friends and families. Therefore, other reasons to learn a foreign language are inevitable.

However, the primary reasons could be the employment and the entertainment. Majority of people are travel to other countries for the business or trip reasons. According to the US statistics, about 60% of oversea trip was for the relaxation and about 30% of those were involved of business reasons. Like this, travelling to overseas become the most popular entertainment activities in this modern era.

I believe that, even though the other reasons are existed, all the basic roots are back to the employment and the entertainment. In the case of friends, partners and families, it can be considered as the entertainment reasons because by learning a foreign language, people can go to travel to other countries with them. Therefore, all the other reasons are the sub reasons for the main reason of the employment and the entertainment.

In conclusion, as the world becomes globalised there are various reasons to learn a foreign language. Despite all the other reasons, the most vital reasons are the travelling and for the work.