Some people say that success is “10 percent talent and 90 percent hard work”. Is hard work the key to success, or is talent also important?

People have different views about what makes them successful. Some people believe that in order to achieve their goals, hard work is the most vital factor. In my opinion, beside being hard-working, talents also play an important role in making humans wealthy and recognized.

It is obvious that practice makes perfect. This means that if someone wants to reach their targets, he or she should devote themselves to work and try hard. For example, unless international footballers train themselves regularly, the chance of participating in large-scale matches is extremely low because they are not qualified enough. By practicing every day, not only their physical health but also their skills is improved. As a consequence, achieving success becomes easier.

However, not everyone who is dedicated can become rich or famous. In fact, talents are the key contributors to the fame of people in a variety of areas. In art, for instance, although some people spend a great deal of time working on their paintings or songs, it appears to be impossible for them to publish their artworks because of the lack of natural ability. To be more specific, apart from practicing, only when he or she has a beautiful voice that can touch people’s feelings, a singer cannot be popular with the public. Similarly, one can never be a well-known mathematician if he does not master calculation and algorithms.

In conclution, so as to become a successful person, global citizens are expected to have not only dedication at work but also genius.