Some people say that success is 10% talent and 90% hard work. Is hard work the key to success or is talent also important?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

There has been much debate on the contributing factors to success. Some suppose that gifted people are more likely to succeed than others. Although natural capacity such as intelligence and talents play a key role, I suppose that hard work is of equal significance in helping individuals achieve their goals.

On the one hand, genius is regarded as a decisive factor in establishing one’s reputation. Take artists such as singers and actors as a good example. If they are not excellent at singing and acting, it is highly likely that they cannot gain remarkable achievements despite the fact that they train themselves very hard. Similarly, a mathematician will probably not be able to solve a complicated math exercise unless he is skillful at calculating. Therefore, talent is vital to achieving success.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that talent alone cannot help individuals to promote in their career path and education. That is to say, it is their determination and consistency that determine if they are successful. In fact, many jobs involve more hands-on experience than talents, and in order to successfully complete the assigned tasks, workers are expected to devote not only their time but also their labor. For example, unless students spend time revising the lessons and doing research, they will not get good academic results. The underlying reason for this is in spite of their intelligence, they will not be able to keep in mind the knowledge they are taught only when they make a great effort to put it into practice. Only by doing this can adolescents make progress in the acquisition of knowledge.

To conclude, although I understand how important talent is in one’s career, I still argue that hard work should not be underestimated because it plays a crucial role in helping people succeed.