Some people say that too much attention and too many resources are given in the protection of wild animals and birds. Do you agree or disagree about this opinion?

Many people believe that the amount of efforts and resources spending on the conservation of wild animals and birds are too massive. While I accept that people have some reasons to say that, I would argue that the benefits of maintaining the biodiversity outweigh its drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are reasons why people think it is a waste spending money and attention on wild animals and birds. The first reason is that not the whole society get beneficial from this policy. In contemporary society, with the rise of technology, people tend to become less dependent on natural world. As a result, the conservation of wildlife will not affect the majority of people. The second reason is that the negative impacts of wildlife extinction are barely visible. It usually takes more than a decade before any adverse effects of the extinction of an animal become noticeable. Therefore, people don't feel the need to spending money and efforts on wildlife conservation.

On the other hand, I believe that governments should allocate resources to protect wildlife. Firstly, it is essential to keep the ecosystem balance. The natural world is one big circle and each species is a single chain link so the disappearing of one species could have negative impacts on others. For example, in 1950s, China experienced the worst infestation ever recorded as a result of the sparrow terminate campaign from the government. Secondly, keeping the biological diverse can have some positive aspects. A rich and varied ecosystem with many species us a great source of knowledge for scientists, which could lead to future breakthroughs in different fields. In fact, the first vaccine was found by Jenner in 1796 was made from cowpox virus.

In conclusion, while I accept that wildlife protection could be a waste of resources to some extent, but I believe that the benefits it brings are more significant.