Some people say we humans are harming the earth through our activities, but other people say we are improving the quality of life on our planet. Which opinion do you agree with? Use specific examples and reasons to support your opinion.

Over the past few decades, industrialization has been rapidly increasing especially in developing countries, as a result of which the standard of living of people has beefed up significantly, but on the contrary, it has made a significant negative impact on the earth. It could have very serious consequences if these human activities aren’t halted and reversed soon.

I agree with the fact that human activities like industrialization, urbanization, consumption of fossile fuels etc. do harm the earth and it atmosphere. But it is just one side of the coin. If we think about the positive aspect , there are many advantages of the same. The most glorious example is the United States of America and other developed countries where the industrial revolution involving human activities had begun about a couple of centuries ago. The standard of living of people of such countries are far better than those of developing countries.

Apart from this, it helps a nation improve its rate of employment, per capita income, purchasing power and thereby improving their gross domestic product. Better housing and sanitation are the succulent fruits of these activities, which have been always blamed for their negative implications on the earth by critics.

But, these hazardous effects arising out of such human activities can be curbed by various measures like strict legislation, creating awareness about care of environment and health education. Every citizen must take oath to plant at least one tree in his lifetime, and use bicycyle or public transport vehicle at least once a week.

Thus, I am in favour of the statement that human activities are beneficial to us to improve our standard of living, and simultaneously its negative impacts on earth can be prevented and controlled by legislation and other modes of interventions.