Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

there has been a constant debate whether students should be allowed to choose their own subjects to study or rather listen to advice from their parents is better. In my view, I partly agree with the first idea.

there are many reasons why letting students study their favourite subjects would bring more benefits, especially in the long-run. Firstly, for students, they will be more creative since they are not obligated to follow a strict formula applied to everyone else. Moreover, with the current emphasis on creativity in several particular services industries, for example, designing, clothing, this would be their competitive advantages for any individual willing to take risks. Another reason is that students also have a tendency of putting more efforts into studying their favourite course; as a result, it helps to boost the success of their academic learning process.

On the other hand, we cannot but also have to mention the positive outcomes if more and more students graduate with the skills and skills of subjects demanded by the current industry. The first benefit is that it will reduce the shortage of talented workers in some particular demanding sector: engineering, manufacturing or even astronomy. In these sectors, the lack of competent workers has been an on-going problem which undermines the productivity of their operation. Last but not least, it is more likely that these students would be able to get immediate high-paying jobs thus have better career progression after their studying. this result from the fact that these graduates, under the early orientation from their schools and families, have time to acquire such amount of knowledge compared to people who have not yet to understand what they should follow.

In conclusion, allowing young people to choose subjects based on their needs, in my opinion, is outweigh the benefits of telling these youngsters what to do. However, in any practice, students should fully understand themselves and receive consultant from people they know.