Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology Discuss both these views a

People's opinions differ as to whether all university students should focus on certain key subject areas or study whatever they want. While I accept that there are some good effects if students only study subjects which are considered useful in the future, I partly believe that students have the rights to study their favourite subjects.

On the one hand, there are some jobs which are considered to be more beneficial for the economy such as medicine, engineering, trade, etc. You will have more job options, career progressions, and even higher salaries if you study one of those career path. A better quality of life is what everybody wants. Finally, a preference to technology or business could lead to new products, strong economy and greater future prosperity.

On the other hand, nobody can predict what areas of knowledge are more likely to prefer in the near future. Maybe some jobs related to creative thinking sills will be admired more than that required technical, practical skills. Furthermore, several jobs like artists, composers, philosophers, historians to name a few have greatly contributed to our spiritual life for a thousand years. As a result, we could not ignore their huge contributions.

In conclusion, I think that the opinion of encouraging students to choose their major subjects freely has positive consequences outweighed the negative effects.