Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology Discuss both these views a

People's opinions differ as to whether all university students should focus on certain main subject areas or study whatever they want. While I accept that there are some beneficial effects if students only study subjects which are considered useful in the future, I partly believe that students have the right to learn their favorite career fields.

On the one hand, there are some jobs which are supposed to be more beneficial for the economy such as medicine, engineering, trade, etc. You will have more job options, career progressions, and even higher salaries if you study one of those career paths. A better quality of life is what everybody wants. Finally, a reference to technology or business could lead to new products, a strong economy, and greater future prosperity.

On the other hand, nobody can predict what areas of knowledge are more likely to prefer in the future. Maybe some jobs related to creative thinking skills will be admired more than that required technical, practical skills. If this were the case, we need more workers in the creativity field. Furthermore, several jobs such as artists, composers, philosophers, historians have enormously contributed to our spiritual life for a thousand years. As a result, we could not ignore their contributions.

In conclusion, I think that the opinion of encouraging students to choose their main subjects freely has positive consequences outweighed the detrimental effects.