Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

For many years, experts have voiced a concern over the increasing crime rate in today's society. Therefore, some have advocated prolonging the prison duration as a punishment to decrease crime rate, while others have suggested different modalities to achieve this like studying the factors standing behind crimes. In my opinion, I contend that applying strategies other than extending punishment years would be more beneficial.

Crimes are always troublesome in any community. That is why, some psychologists have suggested sentencing criminals long duration in jail as this, as they say, will diminish the overall crime rate through several ways. Firstly, isolating those criminals in jail for long time will protect the community from their sinister deeds. Moreover, the long period those inmates will spend in prison will provide a great opportunity for rehabilitating them. To clarify more, this period could be used for educating those offenders and training them so they can get jobs after they spend their sentence years. A salient example is Japan where the crime rate has plummeted to an extremely low level thanks to prolongation of sentence years.

However, this strategy may not be the best since the unhealthy prison environment could create more aggressive criminals. Accordingly, the vast majority of psychologists have considered long prison years more harmful than advantageous regarding reducing crime. Consequently, various methods have been suggested to tackle the soaring number of crimes. It is well known that prevention is better than cure meaning studying the factors standing behind the crimes and fighting them would be definitely fruitful in surmounting the problem. For example, poverty, as well as unemployment, were found to be the main reasons for robbery and assault in France in the 1940s. Years later and with the economic development these crimes have plunged to a very low level.

In conclusion, although isolating offenders in jails for a long period may temporary lower the crime rate, it is not, in my opinion, the best way. To my mind, it is high time the causes of crimes were dealt with so the crime rate will definitely decrease.