Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences Others however believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime Discuss both views and give your opinion

In the modern society, crime is a pervasive problem. When it comes to its prevention, many feel that putting longer prison terms is the solution, while others state that alternative measures, like rehabilitation and vocational training, would ameliorate this issue. This essay examines both views and explains why I am of the belief that programs in prisons could eliminate crime rates.

For many, the solution to crime seems to be simple; lock criminals up for longer. Indeed, longer prison sentences would punish offenders since they would lose their freedom for a lot of time and are separated from their family and friends. Last year in UK, for instance, many people were given a longer prison sentence for rioting, and this punishment deterred the similar behaviour today. In this way, longer life in jail acts as a deterrent to make people think carefully before breaking the law. Clearly, there is some merit in the "longer prison" argument.

Another group, however, feel that extending imprisonment is not the answer, and that other methods would be more effective. Provided that prisons should aim to the rehabilitation of the inmates, so they should receive vocational training during their sentences. In Sweden, for example, where this training was implemented in prisons, the crime rates decreased. This type of measure would improve prisoners' behaviour, and their self-esteem. Obviously, rehabilitated prisoners are less likely to re-offend.

In my opinion, I agree that alternative measures would be more suitable in most situations. If prisons engaged in offenders' education, they would give them the chance to retrain with useful skills which will hopefully ensure them a job after they have served their sentence. Professional programs would be a good example, so that inmates met with tutors to improve their skills connected with an occupation. By doing this, it will help them reintegrate back into society and give them some means of supporting themselves financially. Therefore, if governments implemented educational programs in jails, crime figures would soon drop.

In conclusion, although longer prison terms have a lot of supporters, since they opine that it is the only efficient way to decrease crime, there are others who argue that extended sentences should be replaced by measures focused on recovery. I am of the view that this issue would be tackled effectively through education and training.