Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a contentious dispute over the issue of crime reduction throughout the globe in this era. Some people claim that extension of prison time is the most ideal policy regarding alleviation in crime commitment. Others persistently hold the opposite view and assert that there are various ways in order to refrain people from doing crime. To me the idea of latter party seems more appealing. In this essay, I am going to delve into both points of view.

On the one hand, in favor of the first party, intensification in the prison punishment would result in decline in the illegal activities and criminals. From long time ago, alongside financial penalties, person was one of the alternatives to reform delinquents, although it wasn’t always effective. Not only it contributed to ruin the culprit life, but it would also lead to detrimental effects on them with respect to being isolated from their pursuit and education. SO, people not anymore think of doing crimes according to its outcomes. However, it is not viable way in order to achieve noticeable decrease in crime occurring. For example, according to the recent survey conducted by X university, 60 percent of crime committed throughout X city in 2016 leaded by individuals experienced prison sentences formerly.

On the other hand, it is widely announced that they are more efficient practices that inevitably lead to more bright results. Something has to be done by heads of the nations in term of informing people culturally. Hence, it would be viable if they proceed to commence performing amendment from primary schools. For instance, Tehran municipality has implemented a precious program last year in all schools all over the districts in 2016. They employed a large number of prominent psychologists that detect children susceptible to committing hazardous activities. Then, they begin intensive consultation. Now, the results have revealed that rate of crime had a dramatic fall.

To sum up, it is transparently manifest that long jail punishment could be effect in reduction of crimes somehow, although it would have immense negative effect in communities and it is not solely sufficient. It would be wise i f they initiate from earlier time and make children aware of unethical activities no matter how insignificant it is.