Some people think the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentence. Others, however, think there are better alternative ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give you opinion

Crimials are among the major threats to our society. It is suggested that locking people away for longer time is the most effective way to minimize crime. While I accept that there are benefits and drawbacks of this solution, I would argue that it is effective to put criminals in prison for longer time.

The option to imprison people longer can be disadvantageous to some extent. The main shortcoming is that if they are mixed with other bad criminals, they will form even worse habits. As a result, crime commiters do not improve their characters at all. In addition, being put in jail for too long could hinder people from reuniting with society when they are freed. Criminals are likely to find it difficult to keep track with changes in real life. Thus, this could make them feel depressed and they will probably commit crimes again.

On the other hand, it seems to me that prisoners should be locked away longer because of some undeniable advantages. Firstly, if people are put in jail far away from our society, there could be a reduction in criminal rate. Secondly, longer time in prison provide lawbreakers with a good opportunity to rethink about the terrible things they did. This could encourage them to feel regretful and to improve their characters. As a result, they could lead a far better life after being freed.

In conclusion, I believe that there are many advantages to sentence criminals in prison for longer time, although this solution may have notable disadvantages.