Some people think healthcare should be made free for all people, while others believe people should pay for healthcare by themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Medical system plays an important role in public services. People always pay more attention on the policy of healthcare and some of them support that there should be a free access to hospitals. However, others may think medical fees should be paid by people themselves. Two different opinions both have their advantages.

Firstly, if free healthcare is set in one region, it is no doubt that the average life span in this region will increase. Because people, especially the poor, will not worry about the medical fee. People will be more willing to go to hospitals because they are free, which enables doctors to find potential risks in patients and prevent some chronic diseases. Besides, free access to the healthcare also allows interns in hospital to have more chance to diagnose a variety of patients for more people will come to hospitals. Interns can start from diagnosing some slight diseases and this allows them to gain practical experience, contributing to the medical quality.

But some supporters of self-paid medical treatment may think that if people pay their own fee of the medical care, the burden on the taxpayers will reduce. Governments will use revenue to fund hospitals if they are free, and this action will indirectly affect taxpayers. If people pay their own budgets, hospitals will have the source of income and may run by themselves. It is also good for economy because hospitals will also provide profits.

My opinion is that governments can reduce the cost of medical treatment but never set it for free. Some policy like ‘people with different income level may enjoy different cost of medical care’ can be made to help ensure that everyone in country can get the access to the hospital without increasing the burden on taxpayers dramatically.