Some people think the increasing business and cultural contact between countries brings many positive effects. Others say it causes the loss of national identities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the era of globalization, there is a controversy over whether the impacts of increasingly integrated business and cultural communication on nations are advantageous or losing the national identity. Despite the decreased values of culture it may create, I personally believe that the process offers remarkable merits for economic development and cultural values.

On the one hand, it can be undeniable that the increasing interaction worldwide would result in cultural convergence for the involved countries, which may do away with their national distinctive values and customs as a consequence. For instance, although the establishment of trade associations such as ASEAN, NATO,... has fostered economic growth and regional peace for member countries, it has likely eliminated unique values of culture and trade due to the mutual principles and treaties that those nations have to follow. Therefore, the national identity can be threatened at this point.

On the other hand, there can be numerous advantages in terms of developing the uniqueness of cultures and economy. First, the multilateral trade agreements between parties, which usually stems from the increasing business, can assist those countries with the removal of tariff barriers. As a result, not only can the trading costs be reduced, but the market will also witness higher consumption demands in the long term. Second, global citizens can access diverse cultures when numerous countries become closely integrated with each other. This can facilitate local tourism and allow foreigners to explore exclusive values from different cultures. Hence, if cross-cultural communication kept increasing in this way, national customs could be widespread all over the world and bring many developing potential instead of being faded.

In conclusion, while the process of commercial and cultural integration may have some drawbacks, I still strongly suppose that it has created a positive influence on trade expansion and enhanced a sense of national customs.