Some people think that instead of preventing climate change we need to find a way to live with it To what extent do you agree

Nowadays, it is widely argued by some that there is no point at trying to mitigate global warming, and that it would be better if people started to come to terms with it. Speaking for myself, I absolutely disagree with this statement for the below mentioned reasons.

First of all, I believe that our planet has not yet reached the point beyond non repair in terms of climate change. Therefore, there are still measures that governments, individuals and the general public can take, in order to put a stop to global warming. More specifically, governments can introduce “green legislation” provisions by imposing extra taxes to airline companies, drivers and other air-polluters, and at the same time by introducing tax exemptions regarding companies that invest in renewable energy, such as wind farms business entities. Moreover, individuals should use their cars less and choose to move from one place to the other by public transport or bike. Finally, the general public can request from the political parties to include to their respective agenda measures pertaining to the protection of the environment.

In addition, the belief that we can accept global warming and start to live with it is, in my opinion, a hazardous approach, because of its potentially harmful to the environment consequences. To give one example, I am not optimistic that our planet can bear for much longer the gradual rise of sea level. In some countries, such as Holland, flooding of large parts of the country is an imminent threat, which could lead to the destruction of thousands of people’s houses, and subsequently to their migration to other more promising countries. If this prediction comes to fruition, hundreds of thousands of people will face during the next twenty years poverty and homelessness.

In conclusion, I totally disagree that it would be a good idea to find ways to live with global warming due to the fact that there are still methods to mitigate the danger and the potential consequences of this approach would have catastrophic consequences for the environment.