Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Air pollution is the biggest problem for the people in current generation and it would increase more and more if it has not been stopped. Some global communities as well as people think that international car-free day is the best way to get the pollution to decrease .I believe that other more effective methods should be taken into considerations.

If people do not travel by car on that day, they have to resort to other means of transport such as walking, bus or subway. After that, these environmentally – friendly transportation can become their preferred choice.There is a common benifit that a car-free day can reduce air-pollution . the carbon dioxide emission from exhausted fumes may be significantly cut off

I think the car-free day is not enough to address severe air contamination. the government should improve higher taxes on cars like it has been many developing countries. Only after this policy is applied can fewer people afford cars, and consequently car density on roads fall with the decline of its emissions. Furthermore, other developed nations should invest in energy-efficient engines so that commuters can still benefit from the safety and comfort of cars and the quantity of pollutants in the atmosphere is controlled. For example, electric cars can be a feasible alternative for petroleum ones for eco-friendly purposes.

In conclusion, the program that encourage motorists to give up their cars for one day is a good idea to deal with air pollution, but government need to simultaneously take other measures such as car price increase and encourage use public transportation, invest in energy-efficient engines