Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways. Discusss both views and give you own opinion

Air pollution is one of the environmental issues that attracts a lot of concerns around the world. As such, a number of measures has been proposed to alleviate the severe situation. One of which is the initiative of global car-free days and in my standpoint, there exists other feasible and more effective measures as well.

On the one hand, there are several reasons to believe that having days on which cars are prohibited plays a critical role in ameliorating the severity of air contamination. Firstly, an enormous drop in the volume of cars leads to a considerable plunge of carbon dioxide emission, which is one of the main culprits causing air pollution. This expection stems from the success of the Earth’s hour program that has vastly contributed in reducing the electricity consumption. Secondly, people would have to resort to other means of transport such as bus, bicycle, walking and so on and therefore, commuters would then be aware of the convenience and mobility of these alternative commuting methods in comparison with cars. As a result, they might opt for public transport as their preferred choice.

On the other hand, having global car-free days does not resolve the air pollution comprehensively. Prohibiting car use for only few days contributes marginally to the reduction of carbon dioxide being released to the atmosphere. Instead, government should impose higher environmental taxes on cars, which acts as a deterrent to prospective owners. Fewer people can afford car means a decline in the number of vehicle and its associated emission. Another meassure is to improve the public transport condition and service. Only when the public transport becomes more convenient, friendly and timely can it attract more commuters. Besides, should the government allocates a sufficient amount of budget in researching and developing of environmental friendly vehicles, commuter can still enjoy the benefit of cars while the air pollution is being controlled.

In conclusion, government should combine other measures simultaneously to deal the air pollution in addtion to the idea of discouraging car use for few days.