Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways. Discusss both views and give you own opinion

The deterioration of air pollution is becoming an alarming issue that attracts a lot of concern. While some people reckon that by having days without car is a promising solution to mitigate the severe situation, I hold the views that there are other effective ways in the long term

On the one hand, there are several reasons to believe that the discouragement of cars for few days helps ameliorate the air contamination. Firstly, the emission of carbon dioxide from exhaust fume, which is one of the main culprits causing air pollution, is expected to drop due to restriction of vehicles. This expectation stems from the success of Earth’s hour program that has considerably contributed to the reduction of electricity consumption. Secondly, commuters would have to resort to other means of transport such as bus, bicycle, walking and so on, for cars are not allowed. This, in return, raises people’s awareness of the convenience and mobility of public transport system and subsequently, these alternatives might become their preferred choice in the future

On the other hand, I believe that there exists other measures that are as much feasible and rational. Government are advised to impose higher environmental taxes on private vehicles, which make them less affordable. Only when less number of car circulates on the road would a decline in carbon dioxide be guaranteed, leading to a cleaner atmosphere. Besides, improving the public transport service and facility is a workable proposal. Should the public transport becomes friendlier, more convenient and reliable, more commutters will be appealed. In addtion, government should allocate a sufficient fund in researching and developing of environmental friendly vehicles. As such, commutters can still enjoy the benefits of cars while the emission of air pollutant is controlled.

In conclusion, having days on which car use are prohibited is conducive to the society. However, government should also focus and combine other measures to alleviate the severity of air pollution.