Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that government should invest public money to encourage healthy lifestyle to prevent diseases instead of spending it on treating ill people. Personally, I disagree with this point of view because I believe that money should be allocated equally to treatment and prevention diseases.

On the one hand, it is important to invest money on preventing diseases. This is a more economical way to protect health for everyone. When people alreadky have diseases, the amount of money that costs them will be larger than the amount of money spent on prevention but it does not guarantee the best result of treatment. In addion, more people will benefit if public money is spent on encouraging healthy lifestyle. For example, if government spend money on building public spaces and buy sport facilities, people can have more chances to take up exercise and this helps them avoid obese - related diseases such as hypertension and diabetes. And this is a long term solution to have a healthy community.

On the other hand, it is also essential to focus on treating ill people. Being ill is a heavy burden for them, suffering from the economic burden of treatment at the same time makes them miserable so thay they need the support of government. Further than that, many ill patients belongs to poor working class and they do not have enough money to pay for medical costs. Supporting money for these people will help them overcome the challenges of life and it is a way to show the humanity of government.

In conclusion, I believe that both treatment and prevention diseases are equally importand and need to receive public money from government.