Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some people argue for more expenditure on measures to prevent illness by promoting a healthy lifestyle. While it would certainly result in benefits to public health, I disagree with the idea that this should be higher priority than the treatments of those who are suffering from illness.

The prevention of illness is undoubtedly important, especially for those who are vulnerable and prone to severe diseases such as infants and senior citizens. In this case, preventing illness helps not only curb the spending on cured process, but also minimize complications which may cause bad effect on patients’ future. In addition, nowadays, sedentary lifestyle has already reached the alarm rate due to the developments of means of transportation, gadgets and gizmos. Therefore, to raise public’s awareness of health, government should impose some policies to encourage individuals to use cars less and walk or cycle instead, as well as to eat more vegetable and stay away from instant noodle and fast food.

However, I wholeheartedly believe that expenditure should allocate first to the treatment of people who are ill. Firstly, not all diseases are the result of unhealthy lifestyle choices. For example, respiratory disorders stem from poor air quality in cities, while poor sanitation and contaminated drinking water contribute to outbreaks of dysentery and cholera. Secondly, many deaths would be avoided by timely treatment if hospitals received enough subsidisation from government. Moreover, hospitals play a vital role in conducting crucial researches into life-threatening diseases such as cancer or asthma.

In conclusion, while many people claim that government should more invest in enhancing healthy lifestyle, I consider treatment must have priority in health service spending.