Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

It is argued that budgets are supposed to be appropriated for road infrastructure instead of public transit systems. From the personal perspective, I totally disagree with the opinion as I believe both roads and public transportation should be equally invested.

There are merits of spending money on roads and motorways. The first benefit is that improved road quality stimulates national economic growth. Specifically, more roads and highways allows ease of logistics and goods movements and customers accessibility to even rural areas, enabling businesses to create higher profits. In addition, if governments pour more state budget into upgrading and constructing more roads and expressways, road safety shall be ensured. For instance, in Vietnam where once ranked first as the world’s highest number of traffic accidents, the Vietnamese government undertook an nation-wide traffic safety initiative where billions from public funds were directly diverted into road maintenance , construction of ring highways and installation of traffic lights and signs, thereby having reduced the national road fatalities rate by almost 50%

It is highly beneficial when public transportation is also adequately invested. From the environmental perspective, public transportation is considered a catalyst for the protection of environment and its sustainability. It has been scientifically proven that public transit produces 90% less carbon dioxide and 80% less in volatile organic compounds, per passenger mile, than private vehicles, being the culmination of the reduction in emissions and greenhouse gasses concentration. From social perspective, in order to solve mobility issues stemming from overpopulation in developing states, a reliable public transit could be the key. In areas where is crowded and the majority of habitants could not afford cars, public transport use are recommended because transit vehicles are larger in capacity and the most inexpensive modes of travel.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that both roads and public transportation should be equally spent on. The reason is that while the betterment of road quality offers economic boost and road safety, public vehicles help solve environmental and mobility issues.