Some people think it is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment for people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are different views about how governments should allocate public money. Some people believe that taxes should be spent on medical treatment. However, I would argue that it is better if governments focus on promoting healthy lifestyle.

Firstly, by raising people awareness about healthy lifestyle, governments can prevent health problems effectively. Today, many common diseases like obesity, heart disease are results of an unhealthy lifestyle. These illnesses could be easily prevented by having a healthy diet and regular exercise. For example, the British Government recommends eating five portions of fruit and vegetables per day, this result in a decrease in the rate of people with diabetes.

Secondly, spending money on treatment for patients is a waste of money. Some diseases such as cancer or asthma that cannot be cured, which is just a waste of time and resources if governments allocate taxes to those. Some people might argue that by spending money on health care, governments help poor people have the chance to approach medical treatment. This might be true to some extent, however, I would argue that public money should be used in favor of the whole society p, not a small group of individuals.

In conclusion, I reaffirm my opinion that taxes should be spent on promoting healthy lifestyle rather than providing medical treatment.