Some people think that it is necessary to use animals for test medicines or other products intended for human use. Others, however, criticise this as animal cruelty. Discuss both of these views and give you own opinion.

Since the existence of humanity, animals have been good companions to us. Some people hold the view that animal testing is an inevitable procedure for the sake of humans. In my part, animal experimentation should be banned as they have the same rights as human beings.

The advocators claim that scientists should make a good use of animals, such as test medicines in order to help human beings to combat more deadly diseases. The supporters of this view believe that animals bear a resemblance to humans, such as cell structure, as a result, animal experimentation is still regarded as a reliable and feasible method. It is undeniable that in some case is cruel. For instance, mice are sometimes injected with cancer cell for the medical researches. But it would be more brutal to use humans themselves as the testing objects, because humans cannot take any risk to lose their lives. Some one might argue that animal test will break the biological balance. However, some animals like rabbits or rats can be bred quickly in laboratories. In other words, it has a large number of supplies in the laboratories. Therefore, the animals testing will not break the biological ecosystem.

An alternative opinion is that animals have the equal rights as human beings. Treating them so brutally will leave a negative impression on our next generation. Over thousands of years, animals have been always considered as the best friends to us. It can often been seen on the news that the old who live alone and abandoned by their children, accompanied by their loyal dogs. This is something positive we need convey to our young generation rather than maltreating animals. The harvesting of bear bile for traditional medicine is an unbelievable evidence of maltreatment, which would exert a bad influence on children. If it is inevitable to use animals to do some tests, as there is no other alternative way to replace them in some circumstances, humans should take the responsibility to reduce the pain for those animals. We need treat animals as humane as possible.

In conclusion, animals, human beings’ friends, should be treated as equal right as humans. Once we have no choice to sacrifice their interests, humanity should be considered as the least option for medical testing.