Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Ode, poetries and stories are often quite engaging, however, a few are of the opinion that the time spent on studying these topics does not aid in acquiring valuable knowledge. I partially disagree with this statement because such an educational branch of liberal arts can arouse emotional awareness and empathy.

it cannot be denied that all kinds of romance, fictional or horror books are infused with a plethora of emotions like love, fear, and pain which altogether generate a sense of self-identification, also helps the readers to recognize sentiments. these attributes are imperative to be a responsible and kind citizen because nowadays, mankind is lacking general social manners and oblivious of morally correct behavior. Teenagers must understand the importance of sensitivity towards others at the earliest. For instance, specializing in a field doesn't guarantee perfection but it certainly gives more edge over others.

There is no doubt that some of the learners have an inclination towards such subjects, moreover, it is found enthralling to them. however, on the other hand literature is not enjoyed by all and it is rather an imposition. it is better to make it an optional part of the course instead of mandating it. For example, sports cannot be made a compulsory unit of a curriculum as not every child is physically suitable or enthusiastic to learn anything on this matter. that is why it is not very wise to have every pupil use their energy and time in an uninterested the area.

To conclude, every academic education is worth spending time with as long as it keeps the interest and provides the required knowledge the learner is seeking for.