Some people think that the most important thing about being rich is it gives a person the opportunity to help other people.Do you agree or disagree?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In an era that emphasises globalisation, people can earn money easier and faster from stock markets and businesses than centuries ago, as a result, this creates more filthy rich people. Perhaps let’s start by asking two simple questions, firstly, why would someone want to become rich? Secondly, if someone becomes rich, would they then use the money to help others? In my opinion, the majority of wealthy people do not participate in charity work in any way.

First, people who think about being rich are often aiming to gain more power and influence. When we scan through the top 100 global billionaires, we can rarely see anyone who is authentically willing to join charity work, except for Bill Gates. Second, even for billionaires who help, there are conspiracy theories explaining their underlying motives. Such schools of thought believe that the majority of rich people are selfish, and those who help only do so for the recognition and promotion of their brands of self-gain in general. Ultimately, more power can be gained by helping people and can in turn influence the policies that favour themselves in the long run.

However, I also understand why some believe that the major advantage of having limitless wealth is the ability to engage in philanthropic endeavours. In fact, Bill Gates is an excellent example as he has participated in thousands of charity projects since standing down from Microsoft and founding the Melinda and Bill Gates Foundation. One specific project he has helped to fund included the invention and distribution of new toilets that recycle water for Africans living in poor areas. Unfortunately, not every billionaire does so. Many of them are not altruistic but are very selfish. You need look no further than new stories published a few years ago that highlight how their organisations took advantage of every employee, such as the case where Apple used and treated teenage workers poorly in China.

In conclusion, it is very hard for me to believe that the motivation for being extremely wealthy comes from a desire or willingness to assist the poorer members of society. Most humans are selfish in nature, and they value power, influence, economical gain and their own personal gain over moral values and justice.