Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the purpose of museums in modern society. While it's true that museum - as tourist attractions - should be fascinating, I stand by the idea that the main role of museum is to give knowledge of cultural, religious and historical importance.

On the one hand, it can be argued that museums should be entertaining and more attractive to the public. Museums are widely considered as important tourist attractions of any cities or countries. However, there's a common belief that they are too elitist, uninspiring and only encourage educated people to visit. By adding more entertainment values, museums can appeal to a broader audience. Nowadays, there is also a wide range of museums of which not all are about academic subjects. It is not difficult to find a light-hearted and humourous museum in the world such as chocolate museum in Belgium, kimchi museum in Korea or museum for the heartbreaks in Italy.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that the main purpose of museums is to educate people. They exhibit collections of interesting objects that hold great cultural or historical values. The aim of any exhibitions is to teach visitors things that they haven't known. To achieve that, museums usually offer free guided tours with professional guides, or give away brochures, guidebooks, audio tapes that contain detailed information about the exhibitions. By doing that, museums should play an important role in teaching people about history, culture, science and many other aspects of life.

In conclusion, I think museums, as educational institutions, should offer educative, interesting and enjoyable experiences to visitors.