Some people think that non-academic subjects should be removed from the syllabus due to the dire importance of existing academic subjects.Do you agree or disagree?

There have been many discussions on the present education curriculum and it is debated too whether extra curricular subjects should be the part of academic syllabus or not. In my opinion, It should be part of the syllabus because of the below mentioned reasons.

The primary reason to disagree the statement is that extra subjects helps in the physical and mental development of students. Subjects such as physical education not only helps in providing the knowledge about different sports and their importance but also engages the student in physical activities which help in growth of their body. Playing chess improves mental skills and cognitive development.

In addition, the other reason behind my believe is that foreign languages which are part of non academic subjects provides multi-language speaking skills. It also acts as a great way to learn multiple cultures across different countries and their way of speaking. Students can further pursue career opportunities in the field of tourism. For example, they can become language interpreter and travel guides.

In contrast, it cannot be denied that there might be some individuals who agree the given statement. The main reason could be their thinking. Some people only see doctors and engineers as a relevant profession. To achieve that one has to study the academic subjects in more detail. And if students will not focus on academic subjects like science and Mathematics then they will lose their focus on these subjects and will not be able to handle the pressure of studying academic subjects effectively.As a result of this, they will waste their time on non-academic subjects and are not likely to get white collar and stable jobs.

In conclusion, I would like to restate that I totally disagree and believe students should pursue both curricular and extracurricular activities to explore different fields.