Some people think that in order to prevent illness and disease, governments should make efforts in reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that by solving environmental issues and housing problems governments could protect their citizens from disease and illness. However, I would argue that there are more effective methods to deal with this problem.

On the one hand, illness and disease could be prevented by improving environmental and housing conditions for some reasons. The first reason is that in contemporary society, environmental contaminants such as high levels of exhaust fumes, industrial waste and water contamination are adversely affect people's healths. By improving the environment governments can provide a better living conditions for people and therefore reduce the potential of human getting disease or illness. The second reason is that providing more accommodation for the public is also an effective solution to reduce health risks. Many people are still homeless in society while many others habe to live in a poor condition, which makes them more vulnerable to viruses and health problems. By providing them shelters and better life quality governments can prevent the rise of endemic diseases such as malaria in society.

On the other hand, better measures could be conducted to tackle this issue. Firstly, many common diseases like obesity, heart problems are results of an unbalanced diet. These health problems could be prevented if governments promote a healthy diet and regular exercise. This measure is much cheaper and efficient than other solutions. Secondly, governments should allocate money to conduct research and development in medical field. Any breakthroughs in health sector like a cure for cancer could save thousands of people or prevent the rise of any potential epidemic.

In conclusion, while I accept that improving the environment and solving housing problems could prevent illness and disease, I believe that there are better measures to protect people from these health problems.