Some people think that in order to prevent illness and disease, governments should make efforts in reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is recommended that the authority should put emphasis on alleviating environmental and housing obstacles to decline the incidence of ailments. While I consent to their implication with people’s health, I opine that there are also several measures to address this heated issue.

To begin with, it is acceptable when states allocate their resources to tackle environmental and housing problems in hopes of gaining public level of robustness, since they are renowned as responsible for many health problems. Regarding to acute illnesses, accommodation has been considered as a major contributing factor to a great deal of infectious diseases. Indeed, if residents’ houses cannot fulfill safe hygiene standard, they will become an ideal condition for bacteria, leading to the outbreak of an epidemic threatening people’s life, as we see when Africa suffered from Ebola plague in 2014. Regarding to chronic and degenerative illnesses, a clear correlation between them and pollutants has been elucidated. For example, harmful gases contaminated by a heavy traffic flow were scientifically proved to cause malfunctions in respiratory system, or even lung cancer.

However, I concur with the view that there are a number of feasible solutions which the government may find more urgent and effective to build up citizen’s resistance to diseases. Firstly, it is necessary to upgrade public health services. Specifically, not only will this increase the society’s accessibility to primary healthcare but also encourage residents to have a regular check-up, which efficiently helps them prevent any life-threatening condition. Another measure is prioritizing the budget on the search for a cure. Indeed, if the government pours money into projects focusing on treatment for diseases puzzling scientists, scholars are more likely to create methods to permanently eradicate them, totally allaying people’s fears of ailments rather than merely offering stopgap measures.

In brief, it seems to me that although environmental and housing problems should be focused when the government improves public health, it is also necessary to scrutinize solutions stemming from other perspectives.