Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society Others however believe that school is the place to learn this Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Teaching children about positive social values and skills to play useful roles in society involves multiple elements, with no restrictions on sole responsibility of school or parents.

Parents, of course, are the primary life coaches for children since birth. They not only provide the first and direct education on how to behave in the home, but also act as role models to their offspring. In other words, children automatically imitate their parents’ social practice at the beginning: what verbal and body languages parents use; how they interact with neighbours and friends; how much time they spend on social activities like volunteering in the communities; what kind of actions they take when conflicts occur among families. If parents pass the right values over to their next generation and demonstrate the right social practice themselves, children are very likely to grow into decent human beings who can make great contributions to society.

However, school plays another vital role in educating social values and cultivating children to become great society members, which cannot be underestimated. First, teachers are the secondary and equally crucial mentors to emphasize common knowledge of rules and laws in a bigger social group than at home. They guide students through daily school activities, including in the class, in a playground, and among the students’ team projects. Moreover, peers, children’s little friends with multicultural backgrounds, share their own social values, and discuss their confusion during the growing process. Peer support can be undeniably powerful to favour children’s social skills development and value formation.

In sum, parents or school alone cannot excel the best educational roles in children’s social development. Instead, when they work together as a dynamic team, and with every member of society who shoulder their responsibilities to help our children to learn, clarify their misconception, and timely support their growth, children will have the best chances to turn into the positive images of social world.