Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that the question of whether physical strength or mental attitude remains a source of controversy in the success in sport. While a number of people believe that mental attitude is more important, I would argue that physical strength is the basis of success in sport.

On the one hand, nobody can deny the importance of mental strength. Firstly, having a strong mental attitude provides motivation and determination for sporters to train hard. It usually takes athletes a long time to practice, which is boring and challenging. Therefore, without a strong mind, sportspeople can not focus on training and completing goal challenges. Secondly, it is a strong mind that helps professional athletes to overcome disappointments and failures. Hardships and failures are things that athletes have to face regularly in the professional sports industry. As a result, being mentally strong stimulates sportspeople to gain more achievements.

On the other hand, I believe that physical strength is the basis of success in sport. The reason for this is that some sports require people to have strong physical health such as boxing, weightlifting, and football. Unlike those who take up a sport to keep fit and stay healthy, it is a compulsory requirement for professional athletes to maintain strong physical health to beat their opponents. For instance, several sports stars even take drugs to improve their strength before the competition to rank higher, risking their career. Obviously, being strong in physical health is the foundation of success in sport.

In conclusion, although being strong mentally and physically/both maintaining a strong mental attitude and physical power are necessary for the achievement in sport, it seems to me that the most important thing is physical strength.