Some people think that public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free to the people who use it To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Nowadays, public transport is considered one of the most convenient means of transport for people to use. Therefore, some people think that public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free to people who use it. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this point of view.

There is a main reason why people want to be paid for using public transport. If the public transport were funded by the government, it would be very economical for dwellers. Everybody would have chances to use public transportation, even the poor. Inhabitants would tend to use public transport rather than using cars or motorbikes. As a result, the number of private vehicles would be decreased, so it has a good impact on the environment.

On the other hand, using public transport for free has some serious demerits. Firstly, people will be lack of responsibility for the roles in public transport. They will throw the rubbish in the bus, in the train,...Therefore, the carriages would become dirty, crowded and uncomfortable. Secondly, public transport contains a large number of people, if the government pays for all expenditures, it would be a good chance for thieves doing bad things. The security in public transport cannot be ensured.

In conclusion, using public transportation for free has some benefits, but this kind of measure will have drawbacks, it declines the quality of security in the public transport and the services cannot be developed. Personally, I do not agree with the idea “using free public transport” because all the reasons I told above.