Some people think that public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free to the people who use it To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Many people argue that the government should fully take responsibility in funding public transport for citizens to freely use. While nobody can deny how intriguing the idea sounds, I personally disagree with this view because there are other ways of getting people's attention on using public transport such as lowering the travel expense for some regular transport or bettering the customer service while using.

To begin with, there are two main reasons why free using public transport sponsored by the government seems like a great idea. One reason is that by entirely funding public transport, the government indirectly helps people out in the cost of living. For example, instead of having to cover for the cost in almost every aspect of life, people will be able to cut off the expense called travel thanks to the funding. Furthermore, once the free using public transport policy is officially announced, there will be a dramatic growth in the number of users. Overtime, the amount of private vehicles appearing on the road will eventually decline to a certain level which will have a great impact on reducing air pollution.

Apart from the practical benefits expressed above, I strongly believe this solution can cause more downsides than benefits to not only the government but also the residents. Firstly, free use of public transport without any responsibility or charging fee will actually raise a carelessness tendency among the people. Knowing the fact that they are not charged for the fees anymore can easily lead them to the idea of doing whatever they want such as littering while traveling or damaging the facilities, there will be absolute chaos. Lowering the travel expense sounds much more reasonable and more likely to be appreciated by the citizens. Secondly, funding the whole public transport results in shortening other welfare.

In conclusion, for the reason I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that the government should not fully fund public transport. In fact, lowering the travel expense and bettering the customer service sounds more resonable.