Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is debatable that whether high-achievers or diligent students with a continuous endeavor to improve their academic results should be honored. Personally, I contend with the latter due to some following reasons.

On the one hand, it is understandable that some individuals advocate that straight A students should be rewarded. Traditionally, examination is designed as an academic assessment tool in order to judge students’ knowledge in a particular field such as maths, literature or physics. Therefore, students who show the most outstanding academic results should be honored to encourage them to achieve more in the future. Additionally, rewarding top students incentives mediate achievers to strive for the best to surpass their peers, which consequently foster healthy competition academically.

On the other hand, I would argue that it is beneficial to praise students in form of improvements. The first reason is that since every student possesses different talents, it is difficult to judge their qualification merely by academic results from taking the examination. Secondly, students who are acknowledged for their improvements will inspire others to pursue their academic dream. For example, my sister excels in playing musical instruments, though she barely makes a little effort. Whereas, when it comes to maths and science subjects, regarding of how industrious she is, she finds it problematic to tackle their questions. However, she continuously tries her best for two years and counting, now she is offered a scholarship for her research in mathematics. She now becomes a textbook example for every student, especially mediate achievers.

In conclusion, it is recommended to reward mediate achievers who show their diligence in academic in lieu of high-achievers.